top of page
  • Writer's pictureMadhumita Mohan

Lockdown Gloom

Updated: Sep 27, 2020



It's no hidden fact that the lockdown's gotten on everyone's nerves. I'm no exception. Though the ambivert in me rejoiced when I realized that I could now spend some quality time on doing things I loved the most and reflect on myself, I badly miss hanging out with loved ones on weekends and going to my favourite haunts..be it shopping for comfy apparel or a visit to the library or going to one of those eateries( even if not for the food, (I'm not exactly a Foodie as you might already know) I miss the memories and the experience).

This poem seems to be an outcome of that.

I was teetering between writing a more personalized one and something that's relatable for everyone and eventually settled for this 👇

Window

I gaze outta my window and see a world,

Not the one I knew, here everything is grim.

The same scenes everyday unfold

But I live on the past's rim -

Neither here nor there, I can't bring myself to stay here

I go back to the life where I can shift gears

And not live at the same pace.

Those were times when I didn't have to chase

amusement and adrenaline ; an amazing phase

There were a thousand different ways

to light up my day or my kins'.

A million memories on my mind, I pin

Everywhere I'd roamed in the city

attached is an innate speciality.

I revelled in joy and life was a sweet dream.

Like all good things, it evaporates like steam.

Will a day come when the future's as fascinating

as the past or was it my first and final fling?



This is the first time I've experimented with a much more liberal meter than the one I usually write in. Not sure of the output.


I'd love to hear your thoughts on it and suggestions are of course welcome. Leave a comment right here!


P.S. :This poem was penned on 2oth September 2020








97 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Girl I Love

This has been on my mind for long, as long as 3 years. I wrote my first proper poem back then when I was in class 8, and dedicated it to myself as my birthday was approaching. And sadly I tore it off

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page